Artist in Residence Program

In the Fall term the Department of Physics and Astronomy invites proposals for Artist-in-Residence projects that respond to Physics and Astronomy research from creative visual arts and music composition perspectives. 

Artist residents embed themselves in the research lab/group to envision and produce a response that connects to the scientific research. Selected artists receive $500 at the end of the program. Reasonable material costs will also be covered. 

Selected students spend time each week with the research group, and create a unique work, body of work, composition, or set of compositions in response that is presented at an exhibition/performance at the end of the spring term.  View information on how to apply for the 2020 competition »

2019 Artists 

Musical Performances

Devon Tipp "Pale Blue Dot"- Professor Carles Badenes (Elizabeth Brown: Shakuhachi)

Jason Belcher "Feynman Sketches"-Professor Ayres Freitas (Patrick Breiner: Saxophone, Eric Weidenhof: Cello, Steven Long: Piano, Jason Belcher: Autoharp, Melodica)


Angela Velez "How to Live Like a Star"- Professor Rachel Bezanson 


Taylor C. Hauskins "Find Delta CP"- Professor Vittorio Paolone

Alexandra McDonough "Uncovering Conserved Energy" - Professor Joseph Boudreau


Noah Livingston "The Red Edge"- Professor Jeffrey Newman 

2018 Artists

Musical Performances

Devon Tipp "Solo" - Professor Sergey Frolov (Cecilia Caughman: cello, Jess Weston: bass)


Heather Kresge "From the Background"- Professor Arthur Kosowsky

Rebecca Martin "Massive and Newly Dead: An Act of Translation" - Professor Rachel Bezanson


Dennis Doyle and Pearl Galido "Searching for Resonance" -Professor Gurudev Dutt

Lily Klos "Nanoscopic Collaboration" - Professor Jeremy Levy


Jake Savitz "Aster"- Professor Michael Wood-Vasey

2017 Artists

Musical Performances:

Kenneth Brown "Simulation No.1" - Professor Jeffrey Newman

Brian Riordan "The First Wave"- Professor Arthur Kosowsky


Gabrielle Ralambo Rajerison "The Universe Offers No Conditionals: Poem"- Professor Carles Badenes

Jessica Moore "As Light Leaves: Poetic and Imagistic Response to Astronomical Studies"- Professor Andrew Zentner


Sarah Thornton "As She Is: Exploring Cosmology Through Touch"- Professor Andrew Zentner

2016 Artists

Musical Performances:

Laura Schwartz "System Cooling"- Professor Ayres Freitas

Ryan McMasters "How to Drive a Qubit"- Professor Michael Hatridge


Stephanie Taylor "Artistic Exploration of Astrophysics and Cosmology"- Professor Carles Badenes, Professor Arthur Kosowsky & Professor Jeffrey Newman

Sofia Sandoval "Experimenting with the Drawn Line: A Link Between Condensed Matter Research and Intaglio Printmaking"- Professor Jeremy Levy