Dr. Vittorio Paolone wins 2022 APS Panofsky Prize

Please join me in congratulating Vittorio Paolone, who has won this years’ Panofsky Prize of the American Physical Society, "For the first direct observation of the tau neutrino through its charged-current interactions in an emulsion detector.” He shares this prize with Byron Lundberg (Fermilab), Regina Rameika (Fermilab), and Kimio Niwa (Nagoya University) for leading the DONUT experiment at Fermilab, which first saw direct signatures of the tau neutrino in 2000.

See the paper at https://arxiv.org/ftp/hep-ex/papers/0012/0012035.pdf


Date :
Friday, October 15, 2021 - 11:00